Taking Memories

“What?” you say? “Taking memories? Don’t you mean, ‘MAKING memories'”?

Nope. Believe it or not, I meant what I said. I have been busy “taking memories”. I just love taking them and putting them on film…which enables me to take them everywhere! Get it? I knew you would! ; )

Digital cameras are one of my favorite inventions! Don’t you agree? They go along perfectly with another of my favorites…the computer! Now, I’m not a real tech head so I may be wrong…but don’tcha kind of NEED a computer if you have a digital camera? Someone told me recently that they were thinking of buying a digital camera but they do not own a computer and have never used one. Now, tell me if I was wrong to tell her not to buy it. Was I?

But I digress…

As I get older…ahem…I find myself wanting to capture the present for the future. I guess I am somewhat influenced by my new hobby of genealogy. I wish I had more of so many things from the past…and photos of people…and things…are on top of my list!

They say a picture is worth a thousand words and I think they may just be onto something! ; D You see, how could I ever describe a beautiful sunset…or capture a special moment in time with one of my grandchildren…in mere words? Yes, you heard me say, “mere words”. I will admit to being quite loquacious and I’m not ashamed to say it…but a picture is so much easier…and faster, don’t you think? Oh, and the places we can GO! (Isn’t that a Dr. Seuss line or something?) I can take a picture, put it online and send it around the world in under FIVE MINUTES! In doing so, I can touch the emotions of someone in another country that doesn’t even speak my language!

And talk about IMMORTAL!!! As Joan Rivers used to say, “Can we talk?!” Once that photo is “out there” in the world wide web, it can be downloaded, saved, printed, emailed and shared over and over again…without costing me a cent!!! How frugal is THAT???!!! ; )

Now, all I’ve got to do is master my CAMCORDER!!! Yikes! Now, that is a “horse of a different color”! One of these days, I’m going to sit down and master that thing…until then, I’m just gonna sit here and admire it! Hahaha!

P.S. If you’d like to know more about that BIG WORD: LOQUACIOUS, follow this link: http://dictionary.reference.com/search?r=2&q=loquacious

Leave a Reply

