Have you hugged your husband today?

I sure wish I could! Mine is 1500 miles away and I sure miss him! Oh, I know lots of you don’t have husbands and in some cases, that’s a good thing but more often than not, it’s a sad thing. As my friends and family know, my husband is “a definite keeper”! As I write this, he has just “hit the road” in CA, bringing back some of our stuff from storage. Did you catch that word “some”? Yep, he’s got the truck loaded and has discovered that he’ll have to go back for the rest. What a bummer! Besides all the extra cost and hassle to HIM, that means that I will have to miss him again! Hahaha! Okay, okay…I know the world doesn’t revolve around ME, which is what it sounds like. I’m just blogging about missing him today so I’m keeping with the theme of my topic. Hahaha!

Anyway, I hope to remind all of you to be grateful for your loved ones and give them a hug today. They’ll appreciate hearing it as well as getting the hug! ; ) It’s only been five days since I’ve been hugged or even touched and I’m suddenly reminded of my single friends who rarely get a hug…and it makes me sad. I’m going to make a point of hugging my friends more often…especially my single friends! We need that. As a matter of fact, maybe we need an official Hug Day! Hahaha! I like that! Wanna start a petition? ; D

On second thought, maybe we need to make EVERY DAY A HUG DAY!!! Our spouses, children, family and friends will all benefit…as will we…if we hug each other more! Don’t you agree? I know there are people who aren’t very “huggy” and even whole families who don’t hug but I’m grateful that’s not the case with my family. Oh, don’t get me wrong…we don’t always LIKE each other but we DO HUG each other…cause even if we don’t always LIKE each other, we DO LOVE each other! Whew! I’m sure glad that’s in writing cause I don’t think I could repeat that!!!

I think most people forget to be thankful. Hmmm…are thankful and grateful the same thing? I think so. Anyway, I think we can get so caught up in the little nitty-gritty of life that we forget to be grateful for what we do have. Even if what we do have is just less problems or pain than another has. It helps to put that perspective on things. Those of us who have a relationship with God have another benefit…we are not ALONE with our problems. He is always with us, helping us and working things out to our good…and to His glory! And that’s a VERY GOOD THING! ; )

Someday, we’ll know how it feels to be actually HUGGED BY GOD but until then, I think He uses others to hug us…and gives us the opportunity to hug others. Which brings me to another thought. Have you ever noticed that there are hugs and then there are HUGS???

One of our pastors, John Walton, shared once that when he hugs people, he tries to pay attention to the fact that he is imparting something to others. That really struck a chord in me and even now, reminds me to do the same. I think we have all been given and have even given some sort of perfunctory hugs in the past. You know, it’s what everyone does…but we just kind of go through the motions without thinking of what we’re doing. However, during your next hug, I challenge you to pay attention and think about what you would like to impart to the other person. I guarantee you, you’ll feel the difference…and what’s more, they will, too!

I’m excited about being given the opportunity to share either my love or God’s love with another person, in the simple and physical act of hugging! What an honor! And they say A PICTURE is worth a thousand words!!! Wow! A hug can say so much more! And don’t forget about the added benefit of being hugged back! Granted, some people will need to learn HOW to hug but your example will probably be all that’s necessary although I do remember having to tell one of my grandchildren once that when I hug them, they’re supposed to use their arms to hug me back. ; ) As I think about it, I get some of my best hugs back from that grandchild these days! ; )

So, how ’bout it? Have I convinced you of the value of a hug? It makes others know they are valued and I think it is the-hug-that-keeps-on-giving. You’ll see that hugs benefit both “hug-ees” in ways you haven’t imagined. I’m not an expert so I can’t quite articulate all the benefits but I know that if you begin to hug people in a way that says how much you love and value them, you will see the results for yourself.

Now, get out there and start hugging!!! {{{ ( :]><[: ) }}} And while you’re at it…consider yourself virtually hugged! ; ) Granted, it doesn’t produce the same results but in some small way, it tells you how important you are to ME! And I can tell you that I don’t just invite anyone to visit my blog site. To be honest, I fear rejection too much to do that! So, know that I trust you and that’s a rare thing these days so thanks for being someone I can trust! ; )

Leave a Reply

