VOIP…huh?

Ready for the next installment of Word of the Day?

The word today is VOIP.

It stands for a phrase, actually:  Voice over internet protocol

Still clueless?

Most people are.

Voip is a phone service that runs over your high-speed internet connection.  It’s the latest technology and come to think of it, I’d better get this written quick because the speed at which technology is changing, it might not be “the latest” for long!  ; )

Anyway, as you know, it all started with a phone…

as time went on, though, we were able to get DSL through our phone line…

now, instead of getting your internet through your phone line…

you can get your phone line through your internet!

Crazy, huh?

I’m working right now doing tech support for SunRocket, a VOIP company.  I’m not sure if I like doing tech support, yet.  Actually, I’m not sure I’m cut out for it.  I love helping others…as most of you know, it’s in my nature!  The question is really about how quickly I can do it…and if this is the best way for me to help others.

I’m exhausted all the time and I’ve lost my joy.   It could be temporary…and if I listen and learn from my own blogs, I’m not supposed to expect everything to be rosy all the time…so I’m hanging in there…even if it’s only by an ethernet cord!  Hahaha!  (oh…you don’t “get” that?  not surprised…ethernet cords connect computers and gizmos and routers…that sort of stuff…sorry…inside joke)  ; )

Ahhhh, technology!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michele
    Mar 24, 2007 @ 04:06:28

    I’d love to talk to you about your Oct. 31 entry, about turning 50. Will you e-mail me? Thanks!

    — Michele

    Reply

Leave a Reply

